The 44th ACS Central Regional Meeting

Scheduled Symposia

Program Chair:  Anja Mueller (Central Michigan University)

Vice-Program Chair:  Steve Kaganove (Michigan Molecular Institute)

 

Symposium Title

Organizers (e-mail)

Format

150th Anniversary of the Discovery of Organosilicon Compounds

Gavin Lu (DowCorning) (g.lu@dowcorning.com)

Oral invited only, posters

Advances in Nano-Structured Functional Materials

Dave Karpovich (SVSU) (dsk@svsu.edu), Brad Fahlman (CMU), (fahlm1b@cmu.edu)

Oral, poster

Advances in Teaching College Chemistry

David Baker (Delta College) (dbaker@delta.edu), Janice Tomasik (CMU) (tomas1jh@cmich.edu)

Oral, poster

Advances in Teaching K-12 Chemistry

David Baker (Delta College) (dbaker@delta.edu), Janice Tomasik (CMU) (tomas1jh@cmich.edu)

Oral, poster

Analytical Chemistry

Anja Mueller (muell1a@cmich.edu)

Oral, poster

Biomedical Polymers in Regenerative Medicine

Bingbing Li (li3b@cmich.edu),

Song (IU School of Dentistry)

Oral, poster

Chemical Processes in the Fermented and/or Distilled Beverage Industry

Dale LeCaptain (lecap1dj@cmich.edu)

Oral, poster

Chemistry and Global Health: Partnerships and Innovations in Combating Neglected Diseases

UAEM (Justin Mendoza, justin.d.mendoza@gmail.com, Samik Upadhaya, upadh1sk@cmich.edu, Pratik Chhetri, chhet1p@cmich.edu)

Oral, poster

Combinatorial Technologies

Kurt Brandstadt (Dow Corning Global Corporate Research) (k.f.brandstadt@dowcorning.com), Jerry Schalau (Dow Corning Healthcare Industries; g.k.schalau@dowcorning.com)

Oral invited only, posters

Dendrimers and Hyperbranched Polymers

Choon Lee, (lee1cy@cmich.edu), Ajit Sharma (sharma1a@cmich.edu)

Oral, poster

Electrochemistry and Related Technology for Energy and Environmental Applications

Brian Pate (Brian@BDPate.org), Tom Gregory (Dow) (TDGregory@dow.com)

Oral, poster

General Chemistry

Anja Mueller (muell1a@cmich.edu)

Poster only

Inorganic Chemistry

Mark Benvenuto (UDM)  benvenma@udmercy.edu

Oral, poster

Material Characterization Using Spectroscopy and Imaging

Minghui Chai (chai1m@cmich.edu)

Oral, poster

Materials from Renewable Bio-sources

Pat Smith (MMI) smith@mmi.org, Bob Howell (howel1ba@cmich.edu)

Oral, poster

Organic Chemistry

Anja Mueller (muell1a@cmich.edu)

Oral, poster

Photonics for Energy

Abhijit Sarkar (MMI) (sarkar@mmi.org); Ramakrishna Guda (WMU) (rama.guda@wmich.edu); Kumar Nanjundiah (Dow); (KNanjundiah@dow.com)

Oral, poster

Physical Chemistry

Anja Mueller (muell1a@cmich.edu)

Oral, poster

Polymer-Based Nanomaterials/Nanocomposites

Tirtha Chatterjee (Dow) (TChatterjee@dow.com)

Oral, poster

Polymer Degradation, Flammability, and Combustion

Bob Howell (howel1ba@cmich.edu)

Oral, poster

Raman Spectroscopy: Moving out of the lab and into the field and clinic

Mary Tecklenburg, Sharon Deram (Kaiser Optical) (teckl1mm@cmich.edu, sbianalytical@comcast.net)

Oral, poster

Re-Examining Water Fluoridation:  One of the 10 greatest public health achievements of the 20th century or an unnecessary, outdated and potentially dangerous public health initiative?

Kathy Ling (not ACS member, phone  773-7823; kling914@gmail.com)

Oral, poster

Sustainability - Philosophical and Technical Perspectives

Jim Falender (falen1jr@cmich.edu)

Oral, poster

True Stories of Success from Entrepreneurs

Joseph E Sabol, (jsabol@chem-consult.com), Jennifer Maclachlan (pidgirl@gmail.com)

Oral, poster

Undergraduate Research

Murali Ganth Theivanayagam (Dow) (MTheivanayagam@dow.com); Stephanie Brouet (SVSU) (sbrouet@svsu.edu)

Poster Friday only

Computational Methods Applied to Materials, Structural Biology, and Drug Design

  Steven Trohalaki (steven.trohalaki@mac.com) Oral, poster
 Resources for start-up, small, and growing businesses Joseph E Sabol, (jsabol@chem-consult.com), Jennifer Maclachlan (pidgirl@gmail.com) Oral, poster